My Book

She's Not HerselfShe's Not Herself
A Psychotherapist's Journey Into
and Beyond Her Mother's Mental Illness
Dream of Things (September 2, 2014)

Synopsis from the book jacket...
On the surface, her childhood seemed normal — even idyllic. Linda grew up in the iconic immigrant community of Brighton Beach, Brooklyn, with her parents and a gifted older brother. But she spent her days at home alone with a mother who suffered major bouts of depression. At such times, young Linda was told, "Your mother...she's not herself today." Those words did little to help Linda understand what she was witnessing. Instead, she experienced the anxiety and hypervigilance that often take root when secrecy and shame surround a family member who is ill.

She's Not Herself is a journey to make sense of the effects of multi-generational traumas. Shapiro is ultimately able to forgive (without forgetting) those who left her to fend for herself-and to provide readers with the wisdom of a seasoned psychotherapist who has examined human vulnerability in its many disguises and has moved through it all with dignity and hope. The result is a memoir of love, loss, loyalty, and healing.

She's Not Herself

Available at the following booksellers:
Amazon
Click here for the e-book edition.

Barnes and Noble
Dream of Things
The trade paperback edition is available from the publisher, Dream of Things, where you can get 25% off using the discount/coupon code "dream."

What People Are Saying

  • "An honest and compelling story by a brave and gifted writer." Wally Lamb, She's Come Undone, I Know This Much Is True, and other books
  • "A story that applies to us all-truthful, carefully crafted, and created with a clear-eyed affection." David Watts, MD, poet, writer, musician, NPR commentator
  • "Inspiring and eloquent." Joseph Giordano, LCSW, Ethnicity and Family Therapy
  • "A compelling tale of human tragedy and triumph told with empathy and love." Pamposh Dhar, founder of the Terataii Reiki and Counseling Centre, Singapore
  • "Enlightening and therapeutic." Randye Kaye, radio host, author of Ben Behind His Voices: One Family's Journey from the Chaos of Schizophrenia to Hope
  • "Lyrical and powerful in its use of story-telling to subvert secrets and create new selfhood, this is a beautifully written memoir in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love, Swallow the Ocean, Three Little Words, or Lucky Her Last Death." Rachel Fichter, editor-at-large

Her debut memoir, Four Rooms, Upstairs, was self-published in 2007 and named FINALIST in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards in 2008. Excerpts from that book are acknowledged in SHE'S NOT HERSELF, a totally restructured, thoroughly edited book, released as a new memoir with a new cover and new title. Released (9/14) by Mike O'Mary at Dream of Things, Shapiro is delighted to announce that famed author Wally Lamb endorsed SHE'S NOT HERSELF on its front cover and David Watts, M.D. (writer-poet, musician, and commentator for NPR) wrote the Foreword.

*Professional reviews are always appreciated . . . so too are readers' comments. Do share your thoughts about the book on Amazon.com, BN.com, Dream of Things.com, and Goodreads.com.